A Levels

This section

The new reformed A levels will be phased in between 2015 and 2017, marking an end of the modular system that has existed since the Curriculum 2000 reforms and a return to linear A levels, culminating in terminal examinations at the end of the Upper Sixth.

In 2015 the following A levels were reformed:

Art, Biology, Business Studies, Chemistry, Economics, English Literature, History, Physics and Psychology.

Other subjects will be reformed in 2016 or 2017. The unreformed A levels are split into four units (six for Mathematics and Music). Half of these units are examined in the Lower Sixth and contribute to an Advanced Subsidiary (AS) award. Students who pass this first level then study a further more challenging units in the Upper Sixth. The combined mark for all four units determines the final Advanced Level grade.

In 2016 it is expected that most pupils will study a combination of reformed and unreformed A levels as many popular combination will encompass a blend of subjects from both the reformed and unreformed lists.

Advanced Subsidiary Units will be examined in June at the end of the Lower Sixth, providing students with clear feedback about their performance and evidence of academic potential to prospective universities. For students studying reformed, linear A levels a system of rigorous mock exams will take the place of the AS level examination.

Course available at Ardingly:

  • Art
  • Biology
  • Business 
  • Chemistry
  • Classical Civilisation
  • Design and Technology
  • Divinity and Philosophy
  • Drama and Theatre Studies
  • Economics
  • English (Literature)
  • Geography
  • History
  • Latin
  • Mathematics
  • Further Mathematics
  • Modern Languages
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
  • Music
  • Photography
  • Physical Education
  • Physics
  • Politics
  • Psychology
  • Sociology


For more information about A Level course please see our see the Sixth Form Courses booklet 

    A Level Courses