This section

The International Baccalaureate Diploma programme is a two year course of study designed to provide academic rigour, breadth and coherence.

It is genuinely international, with more than 45,000 students across 100 countries studying for the Diploma each year. As such, it is recognised by universities throughout the world.

In order to gain a Diploma, students must study six subjects across six distinct curriculum areas. Normally three subjects are studied at higher level, and the remaining three subjects are studied at standard level. Students are examined through internal assessment and examinations in the May of the final year of the course. Each subject is graded on a scale from 1 to 7. In addition, up to 3 points are awarded for the compulsory core: Extended Essay, Theory of Knowledge and Creativity, Action and Service. To be awarded the IB Diploma.

A student must score at least 24 points out of the maximum 45.

Extended Essay:  
A 4000 word piece of independent research.

Creativity, Action and Service:

Each student spends about an hour per week on some form of creative or aesthetic activity, physical exercise and community service. They need to demonstrate completion of 18 months involvement and personal target setting over the course.


International Baccalaureate Diploma